Day 10: Who thought this was a good idea??

Well, it’s day 10 and I’m 1/3 of the way done with this 30 day blogging challenge. I don’t know about the other bloggers, but I’m really starting to wonder what I got myself into in taking on this challenge.

Everyone knows that college kids are busy and I’m really starting to wonder why I thought I would have time to write blog posts everyday. With a paper, presentation, and test all due at the beginning of this week, let’s just say that it’s been a bit of a rough Monday and I didn’t get as much sleep last night as my mom would tell me I need.

While blogging has been really fun and a great experience it’s also helped me procrastinate even more than I already do, because let’s face it, it’s way more fun to write a blog post than to write a 12 page research paper and I can still say that I’m being productive!

As I thought about how crazy life is with school right now and considered writing about that craziness, I came to the realization that the life of a farmer can be somewhat similar (with maybe a few less parties). Farmers are busy, crazy busy. They don’t really have time to procrastinate either. Livestock and weather don’t plan themselves around your schedule. If a calf needs to be pulled at 2am, so be it. If you have just a “few more acres” left to harvest in a field and it’s going to rain the next day, you just have to realize that the hour of midnight exists for a reason and the headlights on the combine have a purpose as well.

Busy schedules and irregular sleep patterns are sometimes just a part of life. As one of my friends said the other day, “3am exists for a reason, you might as well put the hour to good use.”

I think truth in that statement can be found in both college and farm life, whether we like it or not.

IMG_0632

See if the other farm bloggers are managing to keep up with the 30 Day Challenge.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Day 18: A Breaking Heart | Sowing Bountifully

Leave a Reply

