Day 23: The Perks of Home

There are many perks to being home. Most of these perks center around the wonderful people I find at home. At church this morning, I received lots of hugs, smiles, and questions about how school is going. Coming home to a loving community is really a wonderful blessing. But I don’t even have to go into the community to find these blessings; I don’t have to leave my house. Last week, I talked about how my dad is More than just a Farmer. But he isn’t alone. When I come home, I talk to my mom for hours, catching her up on what I’ve been doing and asking for advice about various things.

However, when I got up yesterday morning (after the much-appreciated opportunity to sleep in), she wasn’t in the house. She was outside working side-by-side with my dad, like she always does. During harvest, if dad is in the combine, mom is the one unloading it into the grain bins. When my dad decided he wanted to build a house, just for fun, mom was always at the other of the tape measure, holding the opposite end of the board, or handing up the tools from the bottom of the ladder.

When mom did come inside yesterday, she made one of my favorite dinners, chicken stir-fry. Which is another perk, not having to worry about my own food. She even made my favorite evening snack, an Oreo milkshake, last night. 🙂

10397267_869210989774771_8232777978647818306_o

Mom spent this afternoon working on a blanket she is sewing for my niece. And in the meantime, she gave me advice for a project I was working on. She is always there to bounce ideas off of, even when I call from school at 11pm. (I’m always surprised when she answers that late at night.) I could go on and on about all the things she has taught me and all the wonderful things she does for others, but no one wants to read a blog post that long. I will sum it all up by saying that being home to talk to my mom and get her advice in person is one of the biggest perks to being home for a week.

Everyone appreciates their mom and Moms do amazing things for their children and families. But I feel like it takes a special person to be a farm wife and mother. This past Mother’s Day,I found a few poems on the Internet, combined them, arranged them to fit the farm women in my life, and put them on a background of one of my favorite pictures I’ve taken. While these are not all my words, I think they do a wonderful job of describing my mom and grandmas.

Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 8.01.02 PM

Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 8.01.16 PM

Being away at school helps me appreciate all the love I can find at home. Specifically, the loving, caring, hard-working role model I find in my mom.

IMG_0632

Keep up with the other Farm Bloggers!

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Day 27: Giving Thanks | Sowing Bountifully

Leave a Reply

