The Adventure Continues

First I want to make a shout out to my friends that are traveling all over the world right now in places like Brazil, Croatia, and Italy. I’m getting my own taste of different cultures here in the south. I’m very amused by the large, baggy t-shirts with Nike shorts that seem to be the dress code here, and I wouldn’t be surprised if I come home with a bit of a southern drawl.

In all seriousness, I’ve settled into my house with 12 other girls, gotten to know my super sweet roommate, and finally figured out some of what these 2 weeks look like.

IMG_2812

Praise and worship on the beach!

Each morning we have a meeting at a church nearby. We usually have 2 talks that are meant to help us grow in our own relationship with God and teach us how to share the Gospel in our houses and on our campuses back home. Between these talks we have 45 minutes for quite time with reflection questions.

We also get to hear lots of testimonies about how God has worked in people’s lives. God has already been working and moving, challenging me to surrender every part of my life to him. I’m learning to trust Him with my future and what He has planned for me.

IMG_2820In the afternoon, we have time to hang out on the beach or at the pool. We this time to reflect on everything we’re learning and build community. We also play volleyball, spike ball, and I even tired paddle boarding.

IMG_2786

Chocolate chip cookies with Oreos inside. We won best presentation!

We often spend the evenings in our ‘family groups’ competing and having fun. Our competitions have included games, a bake-off, bowling, and a lip-sync battle.

Thursday was our day of outreach. My family group went to the University of West Florida and got to share the Gospel with the students there.

IMG_2863

Sunset Cruise

It’s hard to believe that I’ve already been here for a week and that in another week I’ll be home. I’m looking forward to what the rest of this adventure has in store!greek summit

1 Comment

  1. HI Ktista!
    I’m so delighted to hear that you, too, are a Christian! You seem to have had a great opportunity to learn to share Christ with others. I trusted Christ while I was living at 4-H House, and I was a very new Christian when I was made Chaplin, so I was in great need of the experience you’ve had. I’m afraid I did not have the impact on my house sisters that I wish I could have had. But I must add that after my marriage we found Calvary Baptist Church in Normal where I became involved in the development of Calvary Baptist Academy (now Calvary Christian Academy) and where I taught for 31 years. In fact quite a number of my former students are excellent employees at ILFB! (And State Farm, also! Several SF kids have been sent here to Tempe where they have strong leadership positions.).
    My sons have U of I engineering degrees and my daughter has an accounting degree and CPA from Bob Jones University. Both sons attended BJU two years before transferring to U of I, and amazingly, their grade points were even higher at U of I than at BJU! Randy is at Sandia Nat’l Lab in Albuquerque, NM, Dave is at Intel in Chandler, and our daughter heads up risk management at American Express. We are praising our God that all their jobs were spared in the latest round of cutbacks.
    So happy to make your acquaintance, Krista! Have a great year, and may our Lord bless you days!

    Like

Leave a Reply

