On the Road

My first month with Illinois Farm Bureau has definitely been consistent with my theme of a summer of adventures. The last three weeks have given me many opportunities to travel, network, and learn.

My first trip was to Carbondale for the Illinois Cooperative Council’s Youth Conference. This two-day conference taught FFA students about the principles and values of cooperatives. It gave me the opportunity to meet professionals working for different organizations in the industry.

After that, I spent the weekend in Effingham for the State Young Leader Committee meeting. This gave me insight into more of what the Young Leader Committee does and allowed me to get to know more people in agriculture throughout the state.

The next week, I spent time in Springfield at the State FFA Convention. This was another new experience for me as I never had the opportunity to be in FFA. I learned a lot about the organization and even had the opportunity to judge chapter scrapbooks.

IMG_2967

Milton Hershey School Farm

Finally, my last adventure of June was on the Heritage and Cooperatives Tour to Washington, D.C. I helped chaperone about 70 FFA students that earned their trip to D.C. through projects they had worked on during the school year. Our trip took us to the Milton Hershey School farm, Gettysburg, Mt. Vernon, the Holocaust Museum, the Newseum, the Capitol, and many of the monuments around D.C. The students on the trip were great and it was fun to see some new parts of D.C. as well as revisit places I’ve been before.

IMG_3065

Great group of students!

This first month of my internship has been a busy and fun ride! I’m looking forward to what the rest of the summer has in store!

 

Leave a Reply

